Instagram:  @thelocalsd


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

"Mission Trails" is the debut album from San Diego-based indie rock band The Local. 

The album's indie sound is based in rock and folk, and also draws influences from punk, jazz, and world beat.  The album takes its inspiration from the storytelling of Bob Dylan, the social protest of Ian MacKaye, the melodic guitar and bass of the Smiths, the alt-country roots of Ryan Adams and Wilco, and the unconventional time signatures of The National. 

The project originated with Scott Walsh and Amy Day, San Diego neighbors and songwriting collaborators.   The album owes its distinctive sound to the melodic basslines and lead guitar parts written by Neal Hedegard (and earlier band member Stefan Raets), and to the sophisticated drumming of Ray Daniels.

"Mission Trails" features contributions from Michael Fisher (percussion), Erdis Maxhelaku (cello), Jay Chu (violin), and Eric Vargas (violin). It was engineered by Neal Hedegard at Left Coast Studios, Daniel Bourget at Studio West, and Grammy Award-winner Alan Sanderson at Pacific Beat.  "Mission Trails" was produced by Scott Walsh, Amy Day, Neal Hedegard and Ray Daniels, and mix-produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Steve Churchyard.  The project was mastered in Nashville by Richard Dodd.

Read the San Diego Reader's feature story on The Local and its album release:



the local

on Spotify


the local

on facebook

the making of mission trails

@2017 by The Local